Eyam Hall stands at the centre of the Peak District plague village of Eyam and has been home of the Wright family for over 300 years, the hall dates from just 11 years after the great plague of 1666. The hall was built for John Wright and his new bride, Elizabeth, whose initials are carved on one of the lead downpipes, the couple's portraits hang in the entrance hall.
The unspoilt seventeenth century gritstone Manor House contains an impressive stone flagged hall and a unique tapestry room, containing an array of magnificent tapestries, one of which dates back to the fifteenth century, the original kitchen was discovered beneath layers of plaster, linoleum, and built-in cupboards and has been painstakingly restored to appear much the same as it would have done in the early 1700s. The nursery has a collection of toys dating from 1860 to the present day, other rooms reveal costumes belonging to the Wright family, precious artifacts, needlework and fascinating family momentos.
Created from Eyam Hall’s historic farmyard, the Craft Centre at the hall has 5 working craft units, a gift shop and a licensed restaurant.
The garden still retains its seventeenth century layout, with a knot garden, bowling green, potager and rose walk. Formal gravelled paths and historic architectural features intermingle with specimen trees, mixed borders and a beautiful rose archway.