Historically, Edale-"island valley" in the Peak District National Park, was the name of the valley of the River Noe. From the Norman Conquest of 1066 the valley was within the royal Forest of High Peak and at its centre is the Edale Cross, which marked the boundary of the three wards at the Forest, Campana, Hopedale and Longdendale. As spelt, the name is first recorded in 1732. Earlier recorded versions of the name are Aidele (1086), Heydale (1251), Eydale (1275), Eydal (1285) and Edall (1550).
As well as being the start of the Pennine Way (the official start is the Old Nag's Head, a former smithy dating back to 1577), in the village of Edale, the valley presents walking country which is excellent in its own right. The bed and banks of the River Noe from Barber Booth upstream form the Edale SSSI. (Site of Special Scientific Interest).
Home to the famous landmarks of Mam Tor and Losehill, the Edale Valley is a great starting point to explore some of the most iconic views of the Peak District. Littered with elegant waterfalls, wooden bridges and ancient pack horse routes, a walk through the many paths in the valley offer spectacular views of the surrounding area. Nestled below Kinder Scout, Edale is covered in farms or ‘booths’ as they are locally known, which have defined and shaped the landscape. The gateway to Kinder Scout, Edale Valley provides an easy route up to the edge of the plateau by following Jacobs Ladder.
The Moorland Centre (left) and the Old Nag's Head (the start of the Pennine Way
The Edale Visitor Centre, known as 'The Moorland Centre', in the village of Edale, hosts interactive exhibitions, the impressive centre has a living roof of sedum turf, with a waterfall tumbling over glass panels into a pool at the entrance. It is both a tourist information centre and flagship centre, a national focus for moorland research and an inspirational experience for visitors to the Peak District National Park.